8 years…

I hadn’t realized that it has been 8 years since I’ve known you
I hadn’t realized that it has been 7 years since I last saw you
Bumped into you last year
Bumped into you this year
Perhaps it’s because your name is common
That I see it everywhere I gaze

I find it funny
For you to circle my mind
And chase my train of thought
They say God works in mysterious ways
Well, so does this life

I realize that I am shy and timid
I am far from brave
I hope that you are doing well though
Brother
Keep doing well
May God bless you wherever you go
And wherever He leads you

I’m far too shy for small talk
I’m too scared to reach out
Maybe because I am no stranger
To rejection

This may (just) be a friendship
I will regret not pursuing
And if small talk is all there is
I have nothing to lose

But I hide behind every excuse
As if it’s better for me not to say a word
I’m too busy, not this time
I’m fine

Is it such a coincidence
That I see your name
Everywhere I gaze?

The most common thing that
I regret most in my life
Is to feel at all

And to suddenly want to connect
With someone who
I lost touch with all these years

Be well, brother
Be well
God bless you
Wherever you go

Leave a Reply

