Encourage Each Other In Prayer

It is my last semester of senior year in college.

Since this spring semester began, I felt nothing but impending stress looming above me daily. I had to take my burdens to God in prayer all the time. I felt [feel] anxiety everyday. I questioned the typical questions that possibly every college senior asks themselves, “What am I going to do after I graduate? Will I succeed? Will I find a job?”

I am torn between my dreams and responsibilities. I have my parents who I earnestly want to help. I know that God always and will be my [our] ultimate provider. He is faithful, good, loving, and knows all our needs. Since I was a little girl, I thought that I would go to law school to become a lawyer. I had dreams to help immigrants in this country as an immigration lawyer. My dreams drastically changed since the day I started writing songs. Now, I am close to the finish line to earn my Bachelor’s in Economics. I know for sure, I won’t be writing mainstream lyrics about supply and demand (hah, sorry too much satire).

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.” Proverbs 16:9 

Yesterday, I was reminded of the very essential thing Christians must do:

To encourage each other in prayer.

I met up with some friends on my college campus from my Christian Club, where I have been blessed to serve as a student club leader for two years now. We sat in a circle, face to face, completely vulnerable. These beautiful friends of mine, whose smiling faces I always see- I was met by their pain, worries, and struggles. My heart empathized for them.

It was the sheer, humbling, and overlooked reminder that we are all human. We tend to put up a strong composure to encourage others, but we all have our struggles. We don’t need to pretend that we have it all together to help others. Sometimes, when we share in our struggles, we are able to open deeper conversations and friendships.

Together, we prayed and comfort swept over us. There were other college seniors who sat with us. We all felt the same emotion upon graduation: anxiety. We all prayed for the peace of Jesus Christ and for God to reveal clarity to us. We were all encouraged and concluded it with a group hug.

The Christian walk was never meant to be a solo, lone-ranging journey. Jesus is with you. It’s even better when your siblings can lift you up, not in condemnation, but in prayer.

There isn’t a pain too deep that God can’t heal. There isn’t a sin too great that God can’t forgive. Allow others to pray over you, friend, and encourage each other in prayer.

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” 1 Thessalonians 5:11 

“Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.” Romans 12:15 

“Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” James 5:16

 

2 thoughts on “Encourage Each Other In Prayer

Leave a Reply

