2 A.M. woes

Depression is like 

The insomnia and fear

That eat away 

My brain cells at 2 A.M.

When I’m awfully tired

And want to sleep 

But can’t blink a single 

Second to keep 

On a moment’s notice 

My brain runs fast like a locomotive 

Engine burning out 

And the steam train resounds 

Choo choo pipes the loud kazoo

But I can’t catch the Z’s or count the sheep 

Baa baa the sheep go and run astray 

The minutes and seconds slip away 

And I’m in desperation for some sleep 

So would you catch me when I pray? 

On my knees I do plead

Dear God, help me get some sleep 

Leave a Reply

